In the News: The Broadcast

I swear – we’re not paying Denny. The guy just has good taste in music.

From dailylocal.com:

“When I was in high school, I wanted to study musical theater,” Crisko said during a phone interview last week. “I got accepted to the Professional Performing Arts School in Manhattan. So my mother and I moved from Michigan to New York. I always had a very supportive family.

“After that, I went to college at Circle in the Square in New York. A music teacher there told me, ‘You shouldn’t be in musical theater … you need to be a rock star.’ It was a beautiful ‘Aha’ moment. I realized that rock and roll was way cooler than musical theater.

“Playing rock music has been my career ever since. I always knew that I wanted music to be my life. I’ve been writing songs for a long time, and music has taught me patience. When I started, I was playing shows by myself and eventually met a great bunch of musicians.”

That’s when The Broadcast came into existence and evolved into a rollicking, six-piece soul/rock band.

“New York was a great pace for me to develop,” Krisko said. “Tyler and I are the only two original members left. We knew this was going to be our career. It’s taken a lot of hard work. We do our own bookings. We used to have professional management in New York. Now, we do it all on our own.

“About a year ago, we started touring more and more but we couldn’t afford to be on the road for more than a week. North Carolina is a less expensive place to live, and that has allowed us to do this full-time.

Click here to read more!

Also performing that night: 500 Miles to Memphis, Stolen Rhodes, The Hello Strangers and Rachel Platten

Leave a comment

Filed under Band News, DIY

Leave a Reply

